Chicken and Corn Soup

The temperatures continue to drop in Johannesburg and the only thing that can compensate for this chilly weather is a bowl of hearty soup. I made this soup a while back and the recipe was a bit of a fluke, I didn’t expect it to turn out as delicious as it did (I’m not being vain, I’m sincerely surprised). I made use of the ingredients I had at home and a few left overs from the previous evening’s dinner. The one thing I love the most about soups and stews is that you can use up all your left over ingredients all at once. I’ve made it twice since that day and each time my guests have requested for more or the recipe.

 

Chicken is the base protein of this recipe and I’ve taken a bit of inspiration from my friend Kelsey for this one. Kelsey suggested that I use a traditional Italian base for my soup which she uses in her cooking which is: carrot, onion and celery. I haven’t tried the recipe with celery yet as I’m not a fan of the flavor but she has assured me that it makes the soup even more magnificent! So I will be using it in my next soup.

In my opinion, when preparing a soup, it is important to build flavor. instead of chucking all the ingredients in at once I recommend you add them in stages. This allows each ingredient to release its individual aroma/flavor into the soup. This all sounds like hard work but its really just about having a little patience.

I often use a mix of chicken fillets and bone meat, as the chicken bones give a wonderful flavor to the soup. However, you can use fillets only if you short on time.

 

Follow the steps below to get the best flavor out of your ingredients

 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 kg chicken (preferably half bone and half fillet)- fillet cubed
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tsp garlic –crushed
  • 1 tbsp. green chili – crushed (or according to your flavor preference)
  • 1 medium onion –diced finely
  • 1 carrot –grated finely
  • 1 packet Knorr Vegetable soup
  • 1 tin cream style corn
  • 1 cup fresh cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

method

  1. in a large pot warm up the olive oil on a medium heat
  2. add the garlic and braise for a minute until the flavor is released into the oil, take caution not to burn the garlic
  3. thereafter add the green chili and braise for a minute.
  4. Then add the onion and carrot and cook until both of the vegetables have softened. Reduce the heat if necessary to avoid the garlic burning.
  5. Once the vegetables have softened add the chicken to the pot. Cover the pot and allow the chicken to cook through
  6. Once you have ensured that the chicken has cooked through, combine the vegetable soup with 1 liter of water. whisk well to avoid lumps then add this to the pot.
  7. Cover the pot again and allow the soup to boil for at least 10-15 minutes.
  8. Thereafter remove the boned meat from the pot, debone the meat and add it to the pot. Use a hand blender to slightly shred the chicken in the pot.
  9. Thereafter add one can of cream style corn and season with salt, black pepper and white pepper.
  10. Add the fresh cream to the pot and stir in well.
  11. Allow the soup to simmer on low for 10 minutes. Serve at the consistency of drinking yogurt. It shouldn’t be too waterish but not too thick (you need to be able to slurp). If the soup is too thick, add more fresh cream but adjust the salt and pepper accordingly.

 

Serve with fried samoosa pastry or garlic croutons and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

I’ve added sliced button mushrooms to the soup and it worked really well. if you would like to do this add it after the chicken has cooked  before you add the vegetable soup.

 

enjoy!

Rizwaana

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

