To Vegan or Not To Vegan?

This post was meant to be up 2 days ago but I’ve been down with the cold and mostly too drowsy to remember the recipe. I feel that this flu came at the wrong time, just as I was getting into my healthy vibe, I now find myself drinking sugary drinks and ghee laden soups to get my energy levels up.

 

I spent the last week reflecting on my health and body image. Many women, like myself, are always striving for more. We all face different issues with our bodies, some of us want to be thinner and some of us want to be fatter. I’ve spent most of my life afraid of the “FAT” word, I’ve done some pretty weird and extreme things to stay in shape, as society molded me to believe that thin is beautiful. But eventually, when you’re scanning the barcode of everything you eat, it takes the fun out of life. For this very reason I’ve decided to STOP being so obsessive of how others see me, and rather try and better my health rather than my weight.

 

This is why I started to explore the diet of veganism. It’s basically a plant-based diet which seems daunting at first. In this day and age, we have access to so many alternatives that it’s actually super easy to become a vegan. More than being vegan, my aim is to get rid of refined sugars in my daily lifestyle. don’t get me wrong a cheat meal here and there will be necessary. A friend of mine Justine Dampt of ENCAS Sweet Escapes taught me the 80/20 rule. Which entails living 5 days a week under a controlled and healthy diet (whatever that may be to you). And 2 days of the week indulge in the things you love. (obviously within your limits).  I think while I’m starting out, it might be 20/80 but the 20% I do spend eating a plant based diet I feel lighter, healthier and more energetic.

 

There are two versions of this recipe below, one for the vegans and one for the rest of you!

VEGAN CHIA SEED PUDDING PARFAIT (serves 1 big portion or 2 small portions)

Ingredients

Chia Pudding

  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • ½ cup boiling water
  • ½ cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp maple syrup

Caramel

  • 100g maple syrup
  • 75g coconut butter
  • 75ml coconut cream

extras

  • 1 banana
  • 2 tbsp. granola
  • optional: vegan yogurt

 

Method

  1. soak the chia seeds in boiling water until it has soaked up the water
  2. in a saucepan combine the coconut milk, vanilla and maple syrup bring to a boil
  3. add the chia seeds and cook the mixture until it has thickened.
  4. Remove from the heat and set aside to cool
  5. To prepare your salted caramel, warm the maple syrup up in a heavy bottom saucepan.
  6. When the maple syrup has thickened slightly add the coconut butter and stir it in.
  7. Then add the coconut cream, a little at a time until you get the desired consistency. (it should be as thick as golden syrup.)
  8. To prepare your parfait create layers of solids and liquids in a 2:1 ratio. So for every 1-part yogurt and chia pudding there should be 2 parts muesli. Alternate with chopped bananas and a drizzle of caramel over the top.

 

NORMAL CHIA SEED PUDDING PARFAIT

Chia Seed Pudding

  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • ½ cup boiling water
  • ½ cup milk
  • vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp honey

Caramel

  • 100 g golden syrup
  • 75g salted butter
  • 75ml heavy cream

extras

  • 1 banana
  • granola
  • yogurt (preferably Greek or vanilla)

 

follow the method as mentioned above, just substitute the ingredients where applicable.

 

Enjoy and Stay Happy and Healthy.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

