Green Shakshouka

To be very honest, I was almost over shakshouka. Until I realized that I am an Indian and masala eggs are my thing. The good old fashioned red shakshouka is fine, but get a hold of this one, GREEN shakshouka. While recipe testing, I burnt my onions twice (these Turkish pots HEAT UP FAST) and hubby preferred diced capsicum instead of slices (which I prefer). I needed a whole lot of green stuff that would create the perfect marriage, and that suited my palate. And then my green shakshouka was born. With a little trial and error along the way, I am almost certain that I’m done testing this one. Unless I add an avocado next time… we’ll see.

Obviously, I needed capsicum and onion, the foundation of a great shakshouka. I opted to use minimal spices (for an Indian) and went with my favorites, turmeric and cumin. The heat from the diced chili and garlic was just enough to perfectly coat all those fresh green leafs of spinach. But the actual star of this dish, Tomatillos. I needed to omit the red and get a green tomato in there. Luckily for me, the tomatillo did exactly what I wanted. It is of Mexican origin and is smaller in size than a regular tomato and much more firm. It’s slightly tangy but sweetens up a bit in this dish. I decided to blitz it together with the coriander, that way I have the base that would form my thick sauce. It is a MUST to top it off with a creamy mild feta, it adds that finishing touch, that all perfect things need.

 

Have a go (P.S here’s a short video to help you out)

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp. Ghee and a drizzle of olive oil
  • ¼ tsp Cumin seeds
  • 4 curry leaf
  • 1 tsp crushed garlic
  • 1 small chili, diced finely
  • 1 small onion or 1/2 of a regular onion, sliced
  • ¼ of a capsicum, sliced or diced
  • 2 handfuls of baby leaf spinach
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp black pepper
  • ¼ tsp turmeric
  • ¼ tsp cumin powder
  • 2 tomatillos
  • 1 handful of fresh coriander leafs
  • 2 eggs
  • feta cheese
  • spring onion

 

Method

  1. in a frying pan, preferably one with a lid. Warm up your olive oil and ghee
  2. then add the cumin seeds and curry leaf and braise for a few seconds
  3. add the chili and garlic and braise for a few seconds
  4. first, add the capsicum, cover the pan to allow the capsicum to soften.
  5. Once the capsicum has softened add the onion. Cook until the onion is soft. Mix at intervals to prevent the garlic from burning
  6. Add the spinach and cover the pan to allow it to wilt.
  7. When the spinach has wilted, add the cumin powder, turmeric, salt and pepper. Mix well
  8. Blitz together your tomatillos and coriander to form a liquid mixture
  9. Add this mixture to your pan and mix well
  10. Cover and allow the sauce to thicken slightly.
  11. Make two wells in your sauce and place the eggs in them
  12. Splash a little water over the eggs and cover, steam until the eggs are cooked to your liking
  13. Garnish with crumbs of feta cheese and spring onion
  14. Season with salt and pepper

 

Troubleshooting

  1. This dish needs to be kept on a low or medium heat depending on your pot and flame. The reason for this is you don’t want any element of the dish to burn, or you will be left with an undesirable bitter aftertaste.
  2. Allow the sauce to thicken well, don’t leave too much water in the pan if you want soft yolks.
  3. The sauce needs to be thick, but careful not to burn the bottom.
  4. The longer you keep your eggs covered, the harder your yolk will become, so watch them closely and serve immediately.

hope you all enjoy and if you’re making them , please tag me on instagram! i’d love to see your versions!

 

enjoy and have an eventful week!

Rizwaana

 

Leave a Reply

