Irish Stew-By Farnaaz.B

I’m on fire this week in terms of blog posts. Nope exams are not over yet, just particularly poor planning on behalf of the exam administrator if you ask me. 2 exam papers over a month, don’t get me wrong I’m not complaining about all the free time, but I feel like I have a dark cloud of Environmental science hovering above me. Talking about the dark cloud, after this week’s exam, I was done for. I had no energy left in me to sing one more verse of “old McDonalds farm” (mums, you know what I’m talking about). And for some  reason my creative flair, had completely left me. I literally could not decide what to cook for dinner, I stood in front of the produce aisle in the supermarket for 15 minutes until the shop assistant asked if I was ok. I knew I wanted stew, I also wanted Greek food (thanks to safeera kaka). So I made everything, nothing made sense or maintained a theme, but my tummy was happy.

The stew recipe I used has been attracting a lot of attention on the gram. It’s no surprise that it was shared with me by one of the most amazing homechefs I know. If you follow my feed you will know that I am obsessed with my neighbor, she is literally wife goals. One of my favorite dishes of hers would be her Irish stew. I have no idea why they call it Irish stew, but hey its pretty damn good. unfortunately living in another hemisphere doesn’t make it easy when you’re craving your neighbor’s food. But luckily for me , Farnaaz likes to share her recipes.

She told me what to buy and what to do over the phone, while I stared at the chicken and beef. And I must admit, it came in close second to hers!

So thanks Far for sharing, next time, post some.

Ingredients
• 1 kg Beef cubes (she uses mutton)
• 1 onion, sliced
• 5 curry leaves
• 1 tsp cumin seeds
• 1 star anise
• 2 tsp coriander powder
• 2 tsp cumin powder
• 1 tsp red chili powder
• ½ tsp turmeric
• 1 tbsp. ginger garlic paste (adjust according to the flavor of your ginger garlic masala)
• 2 carrots, cut into thick rings
• 2 cups green beans, cut in segments
• 2 potatoes’, cut in quarters
• baby onions
• 1 packet vegetable soup (particles drained, keep the water)
• 2 tomato’s grated
• 1 recipe of dumpling dough (you can get the recipe here)
• ghee
• salt and pepper

method
1. in a deep stew pot, sauté your onions, cumin seeds, curry leaves, and star anise in ghee. Sauté until the onions are soft
2. thereafter add the meat and the spices highlighted in bold. Cook for about 10 minutes then add the vegetable soup water
3. add the carrots and potato’s and bring to a boil
4. after 10 minutes add the green beans and baby onions, as well as the grated tomatoes. Mix well and cover. season with salt and pepper.
5. cook the curry for about 5 minutes before adding the dumplings. prepare your dumpling dough ahead of time, then blob pieces of round dough balls in the stew pot.
6. Reduce the heat to a simmering boil and allow the dumplings to steam until cooked through.
7. Turn the dumplings over, half way through
8. When the tomato has reduced, and the stew has a thick consistency you’re ready to go
9. Garnish with fresh coriander and serve HOT.

This recipe serves 4 people generously and is quite filling with all the gorgeous ingredients used. make sure there’s enough liquid in the pot when you’re adding the dumplings, so that they steam well. you also need enough water so that the stew doesn’t burn at the bottom while your dumplings are steaming. i
Recipe adapted from Farnaaz Badroodeen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

