Souvlaki

Its currently so hot in Dubai I literally can not deal with it. Usually I escape the heat before it gets too bad, but this year I’ve delayed my homecoming slightly in order to cope with motherhood. To cut the story short baby RSR needed some down time and with the current weather that you all have been experiencing in Johannesburg I chose Dubai over karvol, humidifiers and multiple layers of vests.

 

Back to food. In this type of weather, al fresco dining is the only thing that seems appropriate. However, eating outside isn’t always an option in this heat, the menu is most definitely based on refreshing, light and easy food. One of my favorite dishes would be souvlaki. Those of you that follow my Instagram would know that my love affair with souvlaki started at a young age. my sister took me to eat at aris souvlaki in cape town. Being the brat I was, I resisted and begged to eat somewhere else instead, because I didn’t like “sooflaki”. I didn’t even know what it was I just wanted a whopper (lol).My sister got her way, shoved us into a corner of the restaurant and ordered what she felt we needed to eat and the rest is history.

 

Souvlaki originates from Greece, its basically alternating layers of meat (chicken or lamb) and vegetables on a skewer. This is then grilled and served with pita bread and a variety of dips and sauces. I’ve served mine with tzatziki because I love how refreshing it is!

 

For the souvlaki

Ingredients

  • 1kg chicken cubed
  • 3 tbsp. yogurt
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 3 tsp green chili and coriander paste
  • salt
  • pepper
  • capsicum
  • onion

 

method

  1. simply marinate the chicken cubes in the marinade and leave aside for about 20 to 30 mins. (or overnight)
  2. Thereafter skewer onto sticks, alternating with the capsicum and onion.
  3. grill over a flame or on a stove top.
  4. Finish with a squeeze of lemon

 

Tzatziki

  • 1 cucumber, remove the seeds with a spoon and grate.
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 to 1 ½ cup yogurt
  • salt
  • a squeeze of lemon juice
  • generous amount of shredded mint

combine all the ingredients together in a bowl.

 

Instead of pita I ordered fresh garlic naan from the local Indian restaurant which I served with my souvlaki.

I tried to create this recipe keeping in mind that I didn’t want to overwhelm the dish with too much spices. If you prefer to make it spicier feel free to add more chili.

I served this with a side of French fries and a refreshing earl grey iced tea. You can find the recipe here!

 

I hope you enjoy this dish as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

