Samp and Beans

I recently posted a recipe of my mums famous samp and beans on Instagram and I received a lot of great feedback thereafter. However as much as I love posting recipes on Instagram I find it so difficult to find recipes especially after a few week of posts.  I usually don’t publish a blog unless I have amazing content, but I have received so many requests for this recipe that I decided to cut my standard for once. JUST once. I don’t have any awesome pictures but I will post the few that I have as a reference for your cooking.

 

Samp and beans is a traditional South African dish, most popular in the  African homes. It goes by many names, given that we have 11 official languages, and each home has their own way of preparing it. This is my family’s version.

 

Ingredients

 

  • 2 cups sugar beans
  • 1 cup samp
  • 1 kg steak (cubed)
  • 3 potato’s (cut in quarters)
  • 3 tomato’s (grated)
  • 1 large onion (small cubes)
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp white pepper
  • 3 whole green chilies.
  • 1 tbsp. ghee

 

Method

  1. before you begin your food prep, soak the samp and beans in water
  2. in a large stew pot boil the samp and beans together with 1 tsp of salt
  3. add the potatoes to the samp and beans, but remove once they’re parboiled
  4. in another pot sauté the onions and cumin seeds in the ghee on a medium heat. Allow the onions to soften
  5. add your steak along with the spices and the whole green chilies.
  6. cook the steak until its ¾ way done then add the tomato’s. Allow the water to reduce.
  7. Once the samp and beans are soft, add the steak mixture to the large stew pot as well as the potato’s.
  8. Add 2 cups of water and Boil everything together for 10 minutes
  9. After you have boiled the mixture taste for salt, add extra if necessary (I usually add about 1 tsp more) and if you need a little more spice add more white pepper.
  10. Before serving, fold in a blob of butter.

 

This serves 4 people, generously

 

Notes

*make sure that there is always enough water in the samp and beans while boiling.

*the consistency of the samp and beans should be thick and make sure you have enough stew.

* we serve this with a dash of Worcester sauce over the top.

 

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me or pop a comment in the comments section below.

 

Have a great weekend!

 

Rizwaana

 

 

 

One thought on “Samp and Beans

Leave a Reply

