A Twist on Toast

IMG_1653

I recently stumbled across a post of Shashi Naidoo’s, in which she shared a picture of the most indulgent Croissant French toast. Upon further research I found out that its made at the same restaurant/ café which I have been dying to visit!

Manna Epicure is a rustic yet trendy café located in the heart of Cape Town. I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about them especially from my blogger friends. It seems like the IT place to be at come breakfast or brunch.

Its almost going to be a lifetime before I go to cape town again, so I couldn’t wait and decided to try out my very own version of the croissant French toast. I’m sure its not as good as the original version, but I will have to wait until my next vacation to find out.

The original version is served with a caramelised banana on the side and so i decided to keep it that way!

Ingredients

  • 2 large croissants
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp. milk
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • dash of sugar
  • butter
  • 2 bananas
  • 4 tbsp. sugar
  • 2 tbsp. butter

Method

  1. in a wide bowl whisk together the eggs, milk, sugar and cinnamon
  2. on a low heat warm up a teaspoon of butter in a pan
  3. quickly dip the croissant into the egg mix, make sure that the whole croissant is coated but it must not be soggy.
  4. Cook the croissant on all sides until brown and crispy.
  5. Remove the croissant and place on paper towel.
  6. For the bananas. Heat up the butter and sugar until a caramel begins to form.
  7. Split the banana and place it face down in the pan
  8. Allow it to caramelise and then turn over to caramelize the other side.
  9. Serve warm

I served mine with a side of clotted cream and golden syrup

I know, its so simple. Another great way to serve this would be to slit the croissant and add peanut butter in the centre. I love the combination of peanut butter and bananas.

Troubleshooting

*if your caramel is too thick just add more butter to it and it will thin out

*I suggest refrigerating the croissant before dipping it, that way it wont get too soggy. If your croissant doesn’t have a crisp coating after cooking, you’ve probably over soaked it.

*don’t press down on your croissant while cooking, it will become too flat and unappealing, that’s why I suggest cooking on a low heat so that the egg gets cooked through out and a crisp coating forms.

 

Go ahead and give it a try and don’t forget to email me or tag me in the pictures of your kitchen creations!

 

Leave a Reply

