Butternut Soup

20151119_164437

I created this recipe after multiple complaints from friends and family that were completely mortified by the amount of free butternut soup I would ask for at Pigalle. I love Pigalle’s butternut soup so much, that I tried my very best to replicate the flavours. It took a bit of trial and error until I was completely happy with the final product but this is as close to their version as I can get.

The great thing about this recipe is that many of the ingredients can be substituted for healthier alternatives, which I was doing while on a diet. Serve with warm bread rolls or garlicky toasted croutons.

 

Ingredients (serves 6-8)

  • 1.5 kg butternut, cubed
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon powder
  • Water
  • Fresh cream A/R
  • Olive oil
  • Salt A/R

Method

  1. On a medium heat, warm up about 2tbsp of olive oil.
  2. Add the onions and sauté until soft
  3. Add the cumin seeds and immediately after add the butternut with about 2 cups of water
  4. Once the butternut begins to soften, add the spices.
  5. Stir occasionally until the butternut is completely soft.
  6. Make sure that there is always enough water in the pot while cooking; the butternut should always be covered half way with water.
  7. In a food processor add the butternut in batches with the water to ensure smooth blending.
  8. Pass the liquidized butternut through a sieve to ensure that your final product is smooth and creamy.
  9. Return the sieved soup to the heat. At this point it is optional as to whether or not you would like to add cream. I usually add about a cup of fresh cream, or more if I feel the soup is too spicy
  10. Your soup should have the same viscosity as drinking yogurt. ( or at least that’s how I like it)
  11. Finally season with salt, give the soup one last boil and serve.

Notes

While on my diet, I substituted the sugar with xylitol and used low fat or fat free cream. You can omit it entirely if you like.

Remember that it is important to have enough liquid in the pot while your butternut is cooking; this liquid helps the butternut to cook and will eventually serve as the broth for the soup.

If you find that your soup is too thick you can add some of the left over water that was in the pot. Just remember to sieve it first.

my chilli powder is really hot that’s why I used 1 tsp. the soup should have a spicy undertone so adjust to your liking

This soup freezes well. I prepare a big batch and keep them in individual servings, I thaw it out and reheat on the stove when I want.

20151119_164501

One thought on “Butternut Soup

Leave a Reply

