Proper Vegetable Curry

IMG_0367

Being a young food blogger, people often expect to find exciting and innovative recipes on my blog. However I am quite old fashioned and I love proper homemade Indian food. I don’t limit myself to the traditional biryani and curry. My favourite dishes include okra curry and methi bhajee (fenugreek) and mince. Now and then I dabble in a bit of modern cooking, but I love this style of cooking much much more!

This week I had been craving for vegetable curry and so I decided to incorporate my favourite veggies into a heart warming meal.

Ingredients

  • 1 large eggplant, cubed
  • 2 tomatoes, grated
  • 2 large potatoes, cubed
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp crushed garlic
  • 5 curry leaves
  • 2 tsp red chilli powder
  • ½ tsp turmeric powder
  • ½ tsp cumin powder
  • Salt A/R
  • Oil A/R

Method

  1. On a medium heat, warm up the oil in a large pot, thereafter add the cumin seeds and curry leaves and braise until fragrant.
  2. Add the sliced onions and reduce the heat slightly. Then add the garlic and cook until the onions soften.
  3. Add the potatoes to the pot and cook for about 7 to 8 minutes. Add water if necessary
  4. Thereafter add the eggplant and cook for another 5 minutes.
  5. Once the potatoes begin to soften and the eggplant becomes translucent, add the turmeric, red chilli powder, cumin powder and salt (start with 1 tsp). mix all together
  6. Add the tomatoes to the pot and cook until the potatoes are cooked through and the tomatoes have thickened into a curry.
  7. Add the frozen peas and mix lightly into the curry.
  8. Top with freshly cut coriander leaves and serve.

This can be served with rice or roti, and is best served with a side of homemade mango pickle. I’m feeling a little nostalgic about this dish while typing this post. I love the simplicity of the ingredients and the warmth of the dish. It can also be served as a side dish accompanying a roast chicken.

Please feel free to add water as you’re going about cooking your vegetables, as the vegetables might require additional water to cook through.

I hope you love this as much as I do.

Happy cooking

Rizwaana

IMG_0231

IMG_0239

IMG_0249

IMG_0366

Leave a Reply

