Faaiza’s Masala Tuna

IMG_0116

Rsrcreations has had a hectic couple of weeks! With another successful run with the beautiful Raeesah.R at her make up workshops, and our first ever pop-up at the popular annual Nspired Flash sale, we have had our fair share of work! Thank you to my beautiful team, none of this would be possible without you girls!

For those of you that attended the make-up by Raeesah.R workshops this month, you were introduced to a few new canapés that I have added to my menu. Raeesah usually gives me carte blanche when it comes to the menu for her workshops and I have to admit I love the creative freedom!

One of the dishes that were featured, was the masala tuna. This isn’t my recipe but my lovely cousin Faaiza was kind enough to share it with you all.

I grew up in front of Faaiza, I spent most of my school holidays and weekends in her home, which would explain my chubbiness as a kid. Her cooking is innovative yet traditional and she has strongly influenced my love for food. I am a sucker for traditional Indian food and most of my favourite dishes have come from her kitchen.

So here it is, Faaiza’s masala tuna

Ingredients

  • 2 cans John West Tuna chunks in water
  • 1 onion, sliced thinly
  • 4 tomatoes , cubed
  • 2 large green chilli
  • 3 tsp red chilli powder
  • ½ tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 ½ tsp ground black pepper
  • Fresh coriander
  • Oil A/R

Method

  1. In a flat wide pan heat up about 2 to 3 tablespoons of oil
  2. On a medium heat , add your onions and green chilli ,sauté until slightly brown
  3. Thereafter add the tomato cubes
  4. Add your spices and let the tomatoes soften , this should take about 6 to 7 minutes
  5. Drain the water from the tuna and add it to the tomatoes. Mix all together and cook for about 5 minutes
  6. Garnish with fresh chopped coriander leaves and serve
  7. if your tuna is slightly dry , add about 2 tablspoons more oil to it

We usually have this dish for brunch, however at the workshops I toasted some rye bread with olive oil and placed the tuna on top. Which the ladies loved!

For information regarding Raeesah’s upcoming workshops visit her website here.

Thank you to Faaiza Essop for this lovely recipe I’m sure my readers will be praising you once they’ve tried it!

Happy cooking

Rizwaana

IMG_0105IMG_0107

IMG_0108

IMG_0115 IMG_9851IMG_0109

Leave a Reply

