eggs in chutney. (Masala eggs)

IMG_9385

If you’re like me and your weekday breakfasts consists of either strawberry pops or toast and tea, weekends become the most exciting thing ever! I love weekend breakfasts, everyone usually wakes up late enough for me to prepare a substantial feast for them and this dish is one of my favourites!

I call it the RSR breakfast. It’s loud, vibrant and spicy, typically a few of my favourite things! Essentially it is a tomato chutney, which is bursting with fresh flavours, topped with eggs. This dish can either be baked or cooked on a stove top. it reminds me of so much of home and a wholesome family meal.

I remember growing up eating this and to be honest I wouldn’t have my eggs any other way.

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, minced
  • 2 tomatoes, cubed
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 4 curry leaves
  • 2 whole green chillies
  • 1 ½ tsp red chilli powder
  • ½ tsp turmeric powder
  • Salt A/R
  • Ghee (purified butter)

Method

  1. In a frying pan heat up about 2 tablespoons of ghee
  2. Add the onions and sauté for about 2 mins
  3. Thereafter add the cumin seeds, green chillies, and curry leaves, cook until the onions are soft.
  4. Thereafter add the tomato cubes and add the red chilli powder, salt and turmeric powder.
  5. Cook the tomatoes until they’re broken down and the water has reduced
  6. Make small wells in the chutney and crack your eggs in them.
  7. Reduce the heat and cover your eggs and allow them to cook to your liking.
  8. Serve with toast and if you like sausages or other breakfast meats.

Alternatively if you would like to serve this at a brunch or breakfast. I suggest you prepare the chutney and spoon equal amounts into ramekins. Thereafter crack one egg into each ramekin and cover with foil. Bake in the oven for about 2 to 3 mins on 180ᵒ C or until the whites of your eggs are cooked. cut your toast into strips and dip it into the eggs and chutney and indulge!

I love this dish. It is one of my ultimate favourite breakfast dishes. I find almost every excuse to make it! If you have any family members that love Indian food I would suggest serving this up to them!

IMG_9360

IMG_9366

cooked down tomatos

cooked down tomatos

IMG_9378IMG_9380IMG_9382

One thought on “eggs in chutney. (Masala eggs)

Leave a Reply

