Indian Curry Dumplings

IMG_8910

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, mainly because my best friend has recently tied the knot. I’ve been so wrapped up in pre wedding events, I’ve slightly neglected the blog. I apologise for the lack of activity on the blog.

Johannesburg has been experiencing some pretty peculiar weather patterns recently. It’s sunny and warm during the day yet at night it becomes chilly and slightly windy. Maybe I’ve been away for so long I’ve forgotten what summer is like in the hiveld. These chilly nights have left me longing for one of my favourite dishes, dumplings in curry.

When I was just 3 years old my eldest brother tied the knot. And soon after that my sister. In a family of 5, I was practically raised by my siblings and their spouses. Growing up in such a big family has only created the best memories, which most of you know, involve food. Dumplings in curry has been in our home for as long as I can remember. I wasn’t actually a big fan of it as a child, but as the years went by I found more and more comfort in this dish. It’s so heart-warming and delicious. I couldn’t  help myself, once I was done with the shots for the blog, and I devoured the sample dish.

The dumplings are made from a flour dough which consists of oil, water, salt and baking powder. You can serve them in any curry you would like, however my mum prefers the steak curry that follows. Dumplings differ from place to place and I am unsure as to which part of the world this version has originated from, however my guess would be Kerala, India. But just like most Indo-African dishes it has been adapted and changed.

Ingredients

For the curry

  • 600 g beef, cubed
  • 3 medium tomatoes (grated or blended)
  • 1 large minced onion
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tbsp. Chilli ,ginger and garlic paste
  • 50 g tomato paste (approx. 3 tbsp.)
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. red chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 2 tsp ground coriander seeds
  • 1 green chilli. Slit
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp. oil

For the dumplings

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp. oil
  • Luke warm water

Method

  1. On a medium heat, warm up the oil thereafter add the onions
  2. Close the lid of the pot and let the onions sweat until soft.
  3. Thereafter add the cumin seeds and braise for 1 minute
  4. Add in the cubed beef and cook on medium heat.
  5. In a separate bowl mix together the grated tomato with rest of the spices.
  6. Add this mixture to the pot once all the water from the steak has cooked out
  7. Allow the contents of the pot to cook until the water from the tomato has reduced.
  8. Thereafter add 2 ½ cups of boiling water to the pot , and lower the heat
  9. Your pot should be simmering and not boiling at this stage
  10. Prepare your dumplings by mixing all the Ingredients together, add enough water to form a soft and sticky dough.
  11. After you have prepared the dough, rinse your hands to remove the excess dough
  12. Then oil your hands, and begin to roll your dumplings into a ball. The oil helps to prevent the dough from sticking to your hands as you go along.
  13. Place the dumpling balls into the pot with the curry
  14. Close the pot and let them simmer for about 15 minutes
  15. Turn them over and cook for another 15 minutes.
  16. To test if your dumpling is fully cooked, break into 1 and make sure the centre isn’t gooey and sticky. It should be bread like.

To serve, dish out the dumplings and serve the steak curry over it. I don’t usually serve this dish with any sides or condiments however a mango pickle or sambal would go great with it!

If your dumplings aren’t cooked fully after the 30 min period, keep the pot closed and simmer for an additional period of time. I usually make my dumplings about 50g balls, that way they cook faster. They do plump up while cooking, thanks to that baking powder!

This recipe serves 4 to 5 people.

I hope this warms up your home tonight!

Happy cooking

Rizwaana

IMG_8823

IMG_8829

IMG_8843

IMG_8847

IMG_8863

 

3 thoughts on “Indian Curry Dumplings

Leave a Reply

