Inspiration

IMG_7801

Rule number one about being a blogger. Always be inspired.

At times it can prove difficult for a blogger, of any field, to publish material that is up to standard. I say this because there have been many a times where I have sat re-typing line after line of my posts. For me , this blog is more than a hobby,  it’s a platform for me to express my creativity (the little that I possess). I don’t post everything that I make, simply because I feel  certain materials won’t add to the quality of my blog. Alot of the time I lack inspiration, I don’t want to post recipes, I want to share the memories and stories behind them as well.

For those of you that have a copy of Jamie Oliver’s, comfort food, you’ll understand what I mean. Every recipe of his, has been inspired by someone magnificent  or by the warmth and love of childhood memories. And really that’s what food should be in your life! Don’t merely cook for the sake of it, no one is born “loving the kitchen”. You need to find the inspiration you need and if you put your heart into your food it will definitely show. Growing up, both my parents loved cooking , I obviously didn’t , but yet when I started my own family I longed to bring those same memories and family meals, which I shared with my siblings into my home.

If you don’t like something, you don’t put your heart into it.  But if you’re willing to be inspired, to create memories on your table, then that love will shine through and soon you’ll be that person that loves the kitchen and everyone will love your food.

Keeping with the theme of this post, today’s recipe is a zesty lemon syrup cake, inspired by nature. I love nature, that’s no surprise I’m an environmentalist. I chose to create this recipe in order to bring to life the vibrancy and freshness of the natural environment. Also, I love lemons.

Recipe

Ingredients.

For the cake

  • 200 g flour
  • 200 g sugar
  • 8 eggs
  • 3 lemons Juice and zest
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

For the syrup

  • 1 lemon juice and zest
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 cup sugar

Method

  1. Pre heat oven to 180ᵒ C.
  2. Lightly grease the baking tin of your choice
  3. Sieve your flour and baking powder then leave aside
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs until pale yellow and fluffy, it should triple in volume when it has reached its peak.
  5. Thereafter add in sugar and beat for about 2 minutes
  6. Add in the zest and juice of the lemons and mix until combined with the rest of the mixture.
  7. Gently fold in the flour and baking powder.
  8. Pour into your pre greased tins
  9. If you’re making individual loaves or cupcakes bake for approx. 15 to 20 minutes. If you’re making a big loaf bake for 30 minutes.
  10. In a saucepan bring the water, sugar, zest and juice of the lemon to a boil.
  11. When the syrup begins to thicken slightly remove from heat
  12. Pour over the cakes whilst hot
  13. Garnish and serve!

This is a lovely tea time treat and is super easy to make, it is especially great for summer! If you don’t wish to add the syrup there’s no need, however it does add moisture to the cake.

If you’re using any of the recipes on this blog, I would love to see how your creations have turned out. Simply email me on info@rsrcreations.co.za or tag us on Instagram!

Stay inspired

Rizwaana

IMG_7821

IMG_7747 IMG_7882

Leave a Reply

