Make-Up and Tea- Banana Bread

IMG_5782

Since I was little, I have always been infatuated with make-up. So when I was approached by Raeesah.R from La_maquillage (Ma-kee-yaajh) by Rae to cater for her recent event, I jumped at the opportunity!

Raeesah has been trained by the esteemed London College of Make Up and she commutes between Dubai and South Africa. She has recently introduced her make up workshops to South Africa after great success in Dubai and I was lucky enough to get in on a bit of the action. Trust me this is unlike anything you’ve seen before.

I was in charge of curating the high tea which took place during the event. She wanted a simple yet tasteful menu, which I happily complied with and this is what I came up with

My menu included

  • mini mint ganache cakes
  • individual banana bread loaves
  • pavlova
  • éclairs
  • avocado and spinach rolls
  • kebab and chilli pitas
  • Mediterranean bruschetta
  • lemon and lime cooler
  • pink lemonade

One of the items on the menu which stood out the most was the banana bread. I was so surprised at how much the guests enjoyed them. As promised here follows the recipe for it.

Recipe (via ICCA)

Ingredients

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas ( by ripe I mean black on the outside)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 ½ cup flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180ᵒc
  2. Grease your desired baking pan
  3. In a large mixing bowl mash up your bananas and mix with the melted butter
  4. Add the sugar, egg and vanilla to the bananas and beat together.
  5. Lastly sift in the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Combine with the banana mixture.
  6. Pour your mixture into your desired baking pan
  7. Bake for 1 hr if you’re using a loaf pan ,or 20 to 25minutes if you’re using mini loaf pans, cupcake trays or shallow tins.

The RSR twist! I love to add caramel or toffee sauce to my banana bread when serving. The combination of the 2 elements really gives the dish a different depth of flavour! For an extra crunch, I top with chopped pecan nuts and serve with a hot cup of tea.

For more information about the La_maquillage Make up Work Shops, contact Raeesah on raeesahr@gmail.com or alternatively you can follow her Instagram account for updates.

Happy Baking!

Rizwaana

IMG_5778IMG_5781

5 thoughts on “Make-Up and Tea- Banana Bread

  1. Taking my life as it comes says:

    I saved this page because of all Ur amazing recipes, but more so becoz of my love of banana bread… I ate it, never made it so I was quite excited to find Ur blog 😃

    I was on my way to the kitchen while reading Ur recipe before something caught my attention…Reading the recipe now, I have to ask… Will it still be okay if my bananas aren’t as ripe as the recipe says? (Black peels)

    Like

Leave a Reply

