That Plum Tart

IMG_20141211_204210

Recently one of my friends messaged to ask me to update my blog more often because she’s running out of things to make. I admit, starting a blog is hard work and I’m probably very overwhelmed by the response, as I didn’t expect it to take off the way it did. Thank you to all my readers for the great support and all the excellent feedback (good and bad). I promise that I’ll try and be more efficient, I’m also really flattered by the amount of people that have been trying these recipes out! I appreciate the vote of confidence.

That said this brings me to today’s post. The friend that messaged me is currently still a student and she’s been using the recipes on the blog to cook for her family out of her own will, which is impressive. I have to confess, before I got married I had no interest in the kitchen, (my mother is probably nodding right now). I always had excuses and always found more important things that needed my attention. However since the age of 8 I’ve been watching The Food Channel, I had never really attempted to cook I was just fascinated at how fast they chop.

One of my favourite chefs of all time would have to be Rachel Allen. Rachel is an Irish chef that has multiple shows on the food network. Her cooking style is rustic and fuss free, which is one of the reasons why I love her food. Everything she makes has a traditional approach and isn’t intimidating at all. For my last birthday one of my friends gifted me a recipe book, Bake by Rachel Allen, which I can honestly say is my ultimate favourite book. I’ve been using it religiously ever since.

While watching The Food Channel I came across an episode of Rachel’s where she made a plum tart. I’ve never made anything like this before but it looked so tempting I couldn’t resist! I found the recipe and here it is.

Rachel’s Plum Tart

Ingredients

  • 275 g sugar
  • 150 ml water
  • 900 g plums (or enough to fill the base of your baking tin)
  • 150g soft butter
  • 175g sugar
  • 200 g self-raising flour
  • 3 eggs

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 170ᵒC on bake
  2. In a pan add your water and sugar, stir over a medium heat until the sugar dissolves. Then cook until the sugar is golden brown without stirring.
  3. In the meantime cut your plums in half and remove the stones.
  4. Pour the caramelised sugar mixture into a non-stick baking pan and arrange the plums cut side down on top of the syrup (this will be the top of the cake)
  5. In a food processor mix the butter, sugar and flour together, then add the eggs and blitz together until the mixture comes together.
  6. Spread the cake mixture over the plums, don’t worry if the plums peep out from the top a bit.
  7. Bake in your pre heated oven for about an hour or until firm in the centre
  8. Ideally the cake should shrink a little on the sides, run a knife around the sides of the pan to ensure that the cake isn’t stuck
  9. Leave it to sit for about 4 or 5 minutes before you turn it over.
  10. Turn oven into a plate and serve with cream, ice cream or custard.

This recipe serves about 8 to 10 people, it’s quite heavy so its best served with lighter meals. I love the tartness of the plums in the dessert as well as the beautiful golden glaze that the sugar syrup creates.

This is real old fashioned comfort food, so dig in and enjoy!

P.S this is best served with a hot cup of tea

IMG_4321

IMG_4352Aviary Photo_130628003239675199Aviary Photo_130628006124124374sidebar-bake

One thought on “That Plum Tart

Leave a Reply

