Suri’s Oven Baked Butter Chicken

This dish was one of my favourites growing up. However in true mother fashion, my mum didn’t have a recipe for it. It all involved a little bit of this and a little bit of that, taste as you go along and voila dinner is served. However being a science student, I prefer to be precise – this obviously did not work well in my mother’s kitchen.

My mother’s recipe involved chicken fillets in a thick creamy sauce and As soon as I got married I wanted to make this dish for my new family. With no recipe I jumped right into it, to later learn that my new hubby doesn’t like chicken fillets. I couldn’t give up that easily, I love this dish and I was going to make it work. I tweaked it a little bit, actually measured what I was putting into the pot this time and here we are my version of my mums oven baked butter chicken that the hubby now LOVES!

Ingredients

For chicken

  • 1 kg chicken fillet cubed
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 5 tsp. red chilli powder
  • ¼ tsp. turmeric
  • 1 tsp. crushed cumin
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • Generous glug of olive oil or regular oil If you prefer

For the sauce

  • 250ml fresh cream
  • 50 g tomato paste
  • 3 tbsp. Nandos mild peri-peri sauce
  • 3 tbsp. Nandos lemon and herb peri-peri sauce
  • 3 tbsp. Hot Nandos peri-peri sauce
  • Salt for taste

Method

  1. Pre heat your oven to 180ᵒ C on bake
  2. In a bowl mix together all the ingredients for the chicken and marinate the chicken in it.
  3. Lightly pan fry the chicken cubes so that they only slightly pink on the inside
  4. In an oven safe dish add all your ingredients for the sauce and whisk all together until uniform in colour
  5. Add your chicken into the sauce cover with foil and cook in oven for 45 mins
  6. Thereafter remove the foil and increase the temp to 200 for 10 to 15 mins or until golden brown on top

Serve this with rice or roti and a fresh garden salad.

It’s not the most elaborate of dishes but it’s a unique take on a traditional meal that’s wholesome and tastes even better the next day as a scrumptious lunch sandwich for school or work.

PicsArt_1417018458320IMG_20141126_181616IMG_20141126_181712

Leave a Reply

