The Come Back For More Cheese Cake

The Come Back for More Cheese Cake

cheesecake with berry coulis

cheesecake with berry coulis

I love a good story, and behind every success there’s always one! There’s a memory attached to each one of my creations, and this one has many!

The first time I attempted this recipe I was terrified, as Baked Cheese Cake is one of my favourite desserts and I was convinced that it would be the most difficult thing to bake. I’ve been trying baked cheese cakes at every coffee shop that I have visited and I had never attempted to try and replicate this at home until…

The come back for more cheese cake – the name says it all. Whoever has tasted this cheesecake has requested it over and over again. It has nothing to do with me, I assure you. This recipe is so simple and yet it gives you a smooth and creamy cheesecake packed with flavour!

Recipe

Makes one 20cm cake

Ingredients:

Cheesecake

  • 300g Philadelphia Cream Cheese
  • 90g castor sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 20g corn flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 150 ml cream
  • 1 vanilla pod

Base

  • 80g ginger biscuits
  • 80g Nutticrust biscuits
  • 40g butter

Method

Line the base of a cheesecake pan or baking pan with a layer of baking paper and then grease it lightly

  1. In a food processor, blitz together the biscuits with half of the butter.
  2. Once a crumble starts to form work in the remaining butter by hand until it starts to become firm and compact.
  3. Layer the pan with the biscuit base making sure that the base is tightly packed and at least 1.5 cm thick.
  4. Refrigerate the base while working on the filling.
  5. For the filling place all the ingredients into a mixing bowl, for the best outcome use room temperature cream cheese so no lumps form.
  6. Mix well and then pour over the biscuit base.
  7. Bake on 160ᵒ C for 50 minutes then lower the temperature to 80ᵒ C and bake for another 10 to 15 min or until firm in the centre.
  8. Remove from the oven, cool and refrigerate until set. Then dust with icing sugar.

This is a basic vanilla cheesecake recipe. The great thing about it is that you can manipulate it to suit your own palette.

Keep it as it is and serve with fresh berries or make a coulis.

I have used the same recipe and created a zesty lemon variation! I substituted the biscuits for lemon cream biscuits, swapped the vanilla essence for fresh lemon juice and the vanilla pod for lemon zest.

 

So from me to you, go ahead and give it a try. I can guarantee you’ll love it as much as I do.

This cake is an ego boost, take it everywhere!

Strawberry Cheesecake

Strawberry Cheesecake

PicsArt_1416833276289PicsArt_1416833179434

cheesecake with berry coulis

cheesecake with berry coulis

some of the recipes in this blog have been sourced from The ICCA school with amendments

4 thoughts on “The Come Back For More Cheese Cake

  1. Nasreen says:

    Hi there Rizwaana! Firstly I love your blog. I am terrible in the kitchen, and I have horrible experiences with cheese cakes. But for the first time ever I didn’t flop a cheesecake. I loved it! Looking forward to trying out more of your recipes. 🙌 Also if you do have a great (flop proof) cronut recipe, do share.

    Xx

    Like

    • rizwaana says:

      Thank you Nasreen!
      I am thrilled to hear that and I’m sure you’re absolutely great in the kitchen.
      I will definitely have a look around for that cronut recipe and get it to you as soon as possible!

      I appreciate the support and feedback

      happy new year

      Rizwaana

      Like

Leave a Reply

