The Basics

This is a new segment which I think will be highly appreciated. Since my last post I’ve had people messaging me and emailing me with questions regarding some of the terminology that I use. I apologise, I love my French terminology, its the only French I know (can I lol on my blog?) This page will be filled with all the lovely foreign words that I tend to use -that I sometimes don’t understand – as well as the recipes of the serving suggestions that I post.

Coulis – this is almost like a thick sauce, which you can serve with cheesecakes, Panna Cotta or even have it on your French toast. Its quite simple to make

Ingredients

  • 200g sugar
  • 400g frozen berries
  • Water as required
  • 20g corn flour

Method

  1. In a sauce pan add your berries with a little bit of water.  Bring to a simmering boil
  2. Next, mix the corn flour in some cold water and add to the mixture
  3. Add in your sugar and bring to a boil

Voila! Coulis (Coolee)

It stores well in the fridge or freezer

Crème Patisserie- or Crème Pat for short, is what I call home made custard. It’s easy to make and tastes much better than the powdered stuff.

Ingredients

  • 150ml milk
  • 150 ml cream
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 70 g sugar
  • 30g corn flour
  • Vanilla essence as required
  • 1 Vanilla pod

So the original recipe doesn’t have cream in it so you can substitute the cream for milk, but I love the velvety texture you get from the cream. If you’re going to splurge on the calories do it right!

Method

  1. In a sauce pan bring 75 ml of milk and 75ml of cream to a simmer add the sugar then boil
  2. In a different bowl add the egg yolks, vanilla essence, the contents of the vanilla bean plus the pod itself, corn flour and the remaining milk and cream and mix all together
  3. Remove the hot milk and cream mixture and pour over the egg yolk mixture while whisking ( do not stop whisking or you’ll end up with scrambled eggs.)
  4. Boil the mixture until thick and then pass through a sieve
  5. To cool, place a piece of glad wrap on the surface of the pastry cream to prevent a layer of skin from forming

Se amuser! (Have fun)

Rizwaana

3 thoughts on “The Basics

Leave a Reply

