Pavlov-ART

The title of this post is actually one of the names that were brainstormed when developing the blog. When I asked one of my friends why he thought this was an appropriate name he said “your Pavlova is art”. So I’ll take his word for it.

When I started my course, meringue was one of my favourite sections. I just found the process so simple yet the outcomes can be so amazing!

I’ve probably attempted to make Pavlova in every shape and size, I’ve played with textures as well as flavours and this recipe has proven to be the basis of all my Pavlov-ART!

It’s so simple I make it during study breaks!

Recipe:

  • 100 g egg whites (approx. 4 large eggs)
  • 150 g sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 g cream of tartar or 1 ml lemon juice

Method:

  • In bowl add the lemon juice and salt to the egg whites and whisk to a soft peak
  • Then slowly begin to drizzle the sugar into the egg whites while whisking
  • Whisk the mixture to a stiff peak
  • Hint: to test whether your meringue is ready rub a little of the mixture between your fingers, if it’s still grainy to the touch then continue whisking.
  • Your meringue should have a glossy shine to it when ready
  • Prepare your baking tray by layering a piece of baking paper on it, then give it a good coat of spray and cook
  • Pipe into baskets or weaves, or just shape into a cake using a spatula.
  • Bake at 110 ° C for 45 minutes to 1 .5 hours for bigger meringues or until dry
  • Top with cream and fruits or chocolate. Or anything you want

A useful hint. I HATE wasting so I use the left over egg yolks to make a crème patisserie, which is a custard that you can use as a topping instead of fresh cream.

I know that when baking its preferable to use castor sugar however, I’ve tried this recipe using granulated sugar and it whips to a much more stiff peak and holds really well. You can also try and use 80% castor sugar and 20% granulated sugar , have your hand at it.

I’ve used various toppings such as berry coulis, strawberries and cream, roasted figs and honey praline, toasted coconut, custard and peaches. The greatness of meringue is in its versatility.

Experiment with the recipe and find your favourite combinations. I’d love to know how your Pavlova turns out, send me an email to info.rsrcreations@gmail.com with your feedback.

Have fun

Get whisking!

at this stage add your sugar

at this stage add your sugar

this is what your meringue should look like

this is what your meringue should look like

Pavlova Baskets

Pavlova Baskets

Pavlova stack

Pavlova stack

One thought on “Pavlov-ART

Leave a Reply

